SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 830

WHEREAS, The Texas Senate is pleased to recognize the officers and staff of Region VII of the Texas Department of Public Safety for their commitment to protecting and serving the legislators and state employees of the Capitol Complex in Austin; and

WHEREAS, Since September 1991, the men and women of Region VII have been responsible for the security of the 46 square-block area around the State Capitol that encompasses many state government facilities; supervised by the regional commander, the region's staff includes commissioned and noncommissioned personnel who are divided into details that cover the complex; and

WHEREAS, Their responsibilities include providing police and security patrol of the Capitol grounds, traffic supervision and enforcement, parking administration, protection for visiting dignitaries, monitoring surveillance cameras, and staffing the x-ray machines and metal detectors at the Capitol's entrances; in addition, the region's skilled and dedicated personnel also investigate crimes, conduct vulnerability assessments to mitigate risk, and deal with crowd control during rallies and demonstrations on the Capitol grounds; and

WHEREAS, For nearly three decades, the officers of Region VII of the DPS have worked tirelessly to maintain law, order, and civility in the Capitol Complex, allowing the state's legislators and employees to safely and securely conduct the people's business; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby commend Region VII of the Texas Department of Public Safety for its outstanding record of protecting the Capitol Complex in Austin and extend to the region's officers and civilian staff sincere best wishes for continued success in their important work; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for Region VII as an expression of gratitude and high regard by the Texas Senate.

Hughes

Alvarado	Hinojosa	Perry
Bettencourt	Huffman	Powell
Birdwell	Johnson	Rodríguez
Buckingham	Kolkhorst	Schwertner
Campbell	Lucio	Seliger
Creighton	Menéndez	Taylor
Fallon	Miles	Watson
Flores	Nelson	West
Hall	Nichols	Whitmire
Hancock	Paxton	Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 24, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate