SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 831

WHEREAS, The University of Houston has provided the Texas Legislature with an impressive group of Fellows from its Hobby School of Public Affairs during the 86th Session; and

WHEREAS, The Hobby Fellowship program was launched in 2012 to give undergraduate students the opportunity to work as full-time interns in the Texas Capitol; each Fellow is assigned to the office of a state legislator and helps support its operations by attending meetings and hearings, interacting with constituents and other stakeholders, and carrying out a range of other functions; in addition to gaining valuable experience in the field of public service, they learn more about the legislative process and the issues facing citizens of the Lone Star State; and

WHEREAS, The dedicated students who have served as Hobby Fellows during the 86th Legislature are Sara Alhalabi, Alleanne Anderson, Ulises Aubone, Jonah Baumgarten, Alejandra Cajero, Baongan Chuor, Ashley Cruz, Jonathan Ezemba, Sergio Hernandez, Ariz Karim, Philip Ligget, Jessica Merlan, Ayesha Muzaffar, Idalid Navarro, Adam Ordaz, Jose Reyes, and Crystal Tran; and

WHEREAS, Through their hard work and commitment to excellence, the 2019 Hobby Fellows have rendered invaluable service to their respective legislative offices, and they are indeed deserving of special recognition for their efforts; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby commend the Fellows from the University of Houston Hobby School of Public Affairs for their outstanding

S.R. No. 831

contributions to the Texas Legislature and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success in all their endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the 2019 Hobby Fellows as an expression of high regard by the Texas Senate.

Alvarado, Bettencourt, Miles, Whitmire

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 25, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate