Wednesday, October 30, 2019

10:00 AM

Capitol Extension, Room E1.036




Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Mass Violence Prevention & Community Safety, Select was held on Wednesday, October 30, 2019, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.036, at Austin, Texas.







Senator Joan Huffman, Chair


Senator Charles Perry

Senator Judith Zaffirini, Vice Chair


Senator John Whitmire

Senator Donna Campbell



Senator Kelly Hancock



Senator Jane Nelson



Senator José Rodríguez



Senator Larry Taylor






The chair called the meeting to order at 10:06 AM. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:


The Chair made opening remarks.


The Chair called the following panels to provide invited testimony (see attached witness list).


The following witnesses testified and registered on the following charges (see attached witness list):


·         Consider the role digital media, dark web networks, and overall cultural issues play in the promotion of mass violence and how these contribute to the radicalization of individuals and incitement of racism, white supremacy and domestic terrorism. Research the link between violent video games and recent mass shootings in Texas and examine the impact of the overall fraying culture on mass shootings, including increased violence, tolerance for violence, and extremist views in our society.


·         Study whether the state’s interest in public safety and its ability to deter violence and dangerous conduct is enhanced by prohibiting individuals from wearing masks to intimidate others, incite violence, or engage in criminal activity, while protecting First Amendment rights to free speech and free exercise of religion.


The Chair moved that the public testimony be closed; without objection, it was so ordered.


There being no further business, at 2:46 PM Senator Huffman moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the Chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.








Senator Joan Huffman, Chair




Sean Opperman, Committee Director