Wednesday, April 17, 2019

11:00 AM or upon adjournment

Senator Buckingham's Desk




Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Wednesday, April 17, 2019, at Senator Buckingham's Desk.







Senator Dawn Buckingham, Chair


Senator Carol Alvarado

Senator Kirk Watson, Vice Chair



Senator Bob Hall



Senator Lois Kolkhorst



Senator Borris Miles



Senator Kel Seliger






The chair called the meeting to order at 2:39 p.m.  There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:


The following member arrived after the roll was called:  Senator Borris Miles.


Senator Seliger moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on Thursday, April 11, 2019; without objection, it was so ordered.


Senator Hall moved that committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities:  Chief Executive and Public Counsel of the Office of Public Utility Counsel, Governing Board of the Texas Indigent Defense Commission, Texas Facilities Commission, Texas Real Estate Commission, State Office of Administrative Hearings, Automobile Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority, Board of Directors of the State Bar of Texas (Supreme Court of Texas Appointee), Board of the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, Commission on Jail Standards, Judicial Compensation Commission, Lower Colorado River Authority, Nueces River Authority Board of Directors, State Board of Dental Examiners, Teacher Retirement System of Texas Board of Trustees, Texas Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors, Texas Industrialized Building Code Council, and the Texas Juvenile Justice Board.  The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.


There being no further business, at 2:42 p.m., Senator Watson moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.




Senator Dawn Buckingham, M.D., Chair




Britton Davis, Clerk