MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE

Monday, February 11, 2019 10:00 AM Capitol Extension, Room E1.036

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was held on Monday, February 11, 2019, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.036, at Austin, Texas.

None

MEMBERS PRESENT:

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Jane Nelson, Chair

Senator Juan Hinojosa, Vice Chair

Senator Paul Bettencourt

Senator Brian Birdwell

Senator Donna Campbell

Senator Peter Flores

Senator Kelly Hancock

Senator Joan Huffman

Senator Lois Kolkhorst

Senator Robert Nichols

Senator Charles Perry

Senator Larry Taylor

Senator Kirk Watson

Senator Royce West

Senator John Whitmire

The Chair called the meeting to order at 10:01 AM. The following business was transacted:

The Chair laid out as a matter of pending business SB 1.

Testimony was heard on SB 1 - Article III. Witnesses testifying and registering are shown on the attached list.

Senate Committee on Finance Minutes Monday, February 11, 2019 Page 2

Texas Education Agency Windham School District

Senator Hinojosa assumed the chair.

Teacher Retirement System

Senator Nelson resumed the chair.

At 2:50 PM Senator Nelson announced that the Committee stand in recess until 15 minutes after adjournment of the Senate.

At 3:58 PM the Committee reconvened.

Testimony continued with Teacher Retirement System

Optional Retirement Program
Higher Education Group Insurance
School for the Blind and Visually Impaired
School for the Deaf

A motion was made by Senator Hinojosa to limit public testimony to two minutes; without objection, it was so ordered.

Public testimony was heard.

The Chair closed public testimony.

Senator Nelson moved that SB 1 be left pending; without objection, it was so ordered.

There being no further business, at 6:41 PM Senator Nelson moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senate Committee on Finance Minutes Monday, February 11, 2019 Page 3

Senator Jane Nelson, Chair	
Stanbania Haavar Clark	
Stephanie Hoover, Clerk	