MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Thursday, March 21, 2019 9:00 AM Betty King Committee Room

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Thursday, March 21, 2019, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Dawn Buckingham, Chair Senator Kirk Watson, Vice Chair Senator Carol Alvarado Senator Bob Hall Senator Lois Kolkhorst Senator Borris Miles Senator Kel Seliger None

The chair called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following member arrived after the roll was called: Senator Hall

Senator Seliger moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on Thursday, March 14, 2019; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Watson moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Board of the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, Midwestern State University Board of Regents, Texas Southern University Board of Regents, University of Houston System Board of Regents, University of North Texas System Board of Regents, Angelina and Neches River Authority Board of Directors, Coastal Water Authority Board of Directors, District Attorney of the 355th Judicial District, Hood County, Grayson County

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Thursday, March 21, 2019 Page 2

Regional Mobility Authority, Hidalgo County Regional Mobility Authority, Interstate Commission for Adult Offender Supervision, Lavaca-Navidad River Authority, Lower Colorado River Authority, Lower Neches Valley Authority Board of Directors, North East Texas Regional Mobility Authority, Parks and Wildlife Commission, Prepaid Higher Education Tuition Board, Sabine River Authority of Texas Board of Directors, San Jacinto River Authority of Texas Board of Directors, State Employee Charitable Campaign Policy Committee, Texas Board of Architectural Examiners, and Texas Medical Board. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent. Senator Hall submitted a motion in writing to be shown voting age. This did not change the outcome of the vote. Without objection; it was so ordered.

Senator Hall moved that the committee vote to approve the previously severed nominees to the Finance Commission of Texas. The motion carried with a record vote of 7 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 0 absent.

Senator Campbell was recognized to introduce Dick Scott, reappointed to the Parks and Wildlife Commission, and Carlos Chacon, appointed to the State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners.

Senator Creighton was recognized to introduce Dr. Michael White, appointed to the State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners.

Senator Perry was recognized to introduce Paul Scott, appointed to the Board of the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, and Alvin New, appointed to the Texas Transportation Commission.

Senator Hall was recognized to introduce Joe Ward, appointed to the Red River Authority of Texas Board of Directors.

Senator Hughes was recognized to introduce Chris Spencer, appointed to the Sulphur River Basin Authority Board of Directors, and Michael Sandefur, appointed to the Red River Authority of Texas Board of Directors.

Senator Seliger was recognized to introduce Zack Smith, appointed to the Red River Authority of Texas Board of Directors.

Vice-Chair Watson was recognized to introduce Commissioner Michael Morath, reappointed to serve as the Commissioner of Education.

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Thursday, March 21, 2019 Page 3

Commissioner Michael Morath made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chair Buckingham, Senator Seliger, Senator Alvarado, Senator Miles, Vice-Chair Watson, and Senator Menendez. Public testimony was offered. See attached witness list.

Paul Scott made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Vice-Chair Watson and Chair Buckingham. No public testimony was offered.

Alvin New made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chair Buckingham, Vice-Chair Watson, and Senator Seliger. No public testimony was offered.

Dick Scott made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chair Buckingham and Vice-Chair Watson. No public testimony was offered.

Chris Spencer made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following member: Chair Buckingham. No public testimony was offered.

Carlos Chacon and Dr. Michael White each made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chair Buckingham and Vice-Chair Watson. No public testimony was offered.

Michael Sandefur, Zack Smith, and Joe Ward each made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chair Buckingham and Vice-Chair Watson. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Buckingham announced that all appearing and non-appearing nominees, on the posted agenda, would be left pending before the committee.

There being no further business, at 11:50 a.m., Vice-Chair Watson moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Thursday, March 21, 2019 Page 4

Senator Dawn Buckingham, M.D., Chair
Britton Davis, Clerk