SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 26

WHEREAS, On August 15, 2021, the people of India and individuals of Indian descent the world over are commemorating the date that the nation achieved its independence from British rule; and

WHEREAS, The colonization of India by the British began in 1757 and continued for nearly two centuries; during World War I and in the years that followed, the Indian independence movement gained momentum under the leadership of Mohandas Gandhi, who urged his followers to fight for their sovereignty through peaceful means; British colonial authorities responded by jailing Gandhi and hundreds of others, but opposition to British rule continued to grow among the Indian people; following the conclusion of World War II, the moment of liberation was at hand; and

WHEREAS, On August 15, 1947, the Indian Independence Act went into effect, establishing India as a sovereign country; over the past 74 years, it has emerged as a vibrant, culturally rich, and economically diverse nation that is the most populous democracy in the world; and

WHEREAS, Each year, Indian Independence Day is observed on August 15, and festivities include flag-raising ceremonies, kite flying, and cultural presentations; these traditions are celebrated not only in India but also in the United States and in the many other countries around the globe that benefit from a large Indian community; and

WHEREAS, The story of India's hard-fought and ultimately victorious struggle for independence continues to resonate strongly with those who champion the cause of liberty, and it is a pleasure to join in celebrating the anniversary of the nation's establishment; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commemorate Indian Independence Day on August 15, 2021, and pay tribute to the important contributions made by Indian Americans to our state and nation.

Kolkhorst

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 29, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate