SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 41

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Joseph Carney, who has been named the recipient of the 2021 Reliever Airport Manager of the Year Award by the Texas Department of Transportation; and

WHEREAS, Joseph Carney is manager of the Georgetown Municipal Airport; over the past year, he has demonstrated outstanding leadership and an inspiring commitment to excellence while facing the many challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic; and

WHEREAS, The Georgetown Municipal Airport saw a continual increase in operations in 2020 and carried out multiple improvement projects on the field, including the installation of taxiway lights and signage; Mr. Carney's deft handling of the coordination of such improvement projects ensured that air traffic control tower operators were informed of activities on the ground and that airport operations continued to run smoothly; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Carney played a vital role in improving working conditions and efficiency for airport staff, and he has worked diligently to help create a proactive budget plan to meet the need for the replacement of critical tower systems; he has prioritized the health and safety of the airport's employees and took particular care to ensure a safe work environment during the COVID-19 pandemic; and

WHEREAS, Joseph Carney has ably led one of the busiest reliever airports in the state, and it is truly fitting that he receive special recognition; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend Joseph Carney on his outstanding leadership as manager of the Georgetown Municipal Airport and extend congratulations to him on receiving the 2021 Reliever Airport Manager of the Year Award; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Schwertner

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on August 4, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate