H.C.R. No. 12

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On November 7, 2021, the members of St. Ann's 2 Catholic Church in Midland are celebrating the 125th anniversary of 3 the parish's founding, and this significant milestone is indeed 4 deserving of special recognition; and

5 WHEREAS, The church's history dates back to 1896, when the 6 cornerstone for a mission was laid at 417 East Texas Avenue and 7 dedicated in honor of St. Ann; in 1933, the parish was renamed 8 St. George's Catholic Church after its benefactor, Monsignor 9 George O'Brien, but the original name was restored when the church 10 moved to West Texas Avenue in 1948; and

11 WHEREAS, Over the years, the congregation grew, and a new 12 sanctuary was built in 1959; constructed in the shape of a cross, 13 the building features marble altars and hand-carved wooden statues, 14 which were imported from Italy; in addition, figures of St. Ann and 15 the Blessed Virgin stand outside, and a shrine of the church's 16 patron saint greets parishioners at the entrance; and

WHEREAS, The members of this notable house of worship have established a variety of commendable ministries and initiatives that foster fellowship, offer help to those in need, and benefit the community; moreover, in 1950, the church founded St. Ann's School, which today provides an education for approximately 400 children from preschool to eighth grade; and

23 WHEREAS, Throughout its distinguished history, St. Ann's 24 Catholic Church has served as a source of inspiration,

1

H.C.R. No. 12

1 encouragement, and guidance to those who worship there, and its 2 continued existence is a testament to the unwavering commitment of 3 its members and clergy, both past and present; now, therefore, be it 4 RESOLVED, That the 87th Legislature of the State of Texas, 5 2nd Called Session, hereby commemorate the 125th anniversary of 6 St. Ann's Catholic Church and extend to its congregation sincere

7 best wishes for the future; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas 10 House of Representatives and Senate.

Craddick

Phelan Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Bonnen Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Cason Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Crockett Cyrier Darby Davis Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Fierro Frank Frullo Gates Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin Guerra

Guillen Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hull Hunter Israel Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Minjarez Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave

Oliverson Ordaz Perez Ortega Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Price Ramos Ranev Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stephenson Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle White Wilson Wu Zwiener

H.C.R. No. 12

Noble

H.C.R. No. 12

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 12 was adopted by the House on September 1, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 12 was adopted by the Senate on September 1, 2021, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: _____

Date

Governor