H.R. No. 20

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Michael Lee retired as director of engineering and 2 safety operations for the Texas Department of Transportation on 3 July 31, 2021, drawing to a close an outstanding tenure with the 4 agency that spanned nearly 24 years; and

5 WHEREAS, Mr. Lee earned a bachelor's degree in petroleum 6 engineering from Texas A&M University in 1988 and began his career 7 by running his own water well firm in Northeast Texas; he first 8 joined TxDOT in 1997 as an engineering assistant, and over the 9 years, he has held a variety of positions, including transportation 10 engineer, area engineer for San Augustine and Nacogdoches, and 11 director of operations for the Paris District; and

12 WHEREAS, In 2014, Mr. Lee was named director of the 13 Maintenance Division, where he cultivated a culture that emphasized 14 customer service, collaboration, and accountability, and in 2017, 15 he took on his most recent role as director of engineering and 16 safety operations; his myriad contributions to the agency have 17 helped TxDOT to become a national model in responding to 18 emergencies and severe weather events; and

WHEREAS, With his professionalism, leadership, and commitment to excellence, Michael Lee has earned the lasting respect and admiration of his colleagues, and he may indeed reflect with pride on his many accomplishments as he begins the next exciting chapter of his life; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas

1

1 Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby congratulate Michael Lee on 2 his retirement as the Texas Department of Transportation director 3 of engineering and safety operations and extend to him sincere best 4 wishes for the future; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Mr. Lee as an expression of high regard by the Texas 7 House of Representatives.

Paddie

H.R. No. 20

H.R. No. 20

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 20 was adopted by the House on August 30, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House