H.R. No. 108

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The McLennan Community College baseball team donned
- 2 the mantle of champions by winning the 2021 National Junior College
- 3 Athletic Association Division I World Series; and
- WHEREAS, Over the course of an unforgettable season, the
- 5 Highlanders claimed conference and regional crowns and then
- 6 dispatched each of their world series foes; the decisive victory
- 7 came in the title game on June 4 against Central Arizona College,
- 8 with MCC winning 7-3 to collect the school's second national
- 9 championship and its first since 1983; and
- 10 WHEREAS, These determined student athletes demonstrated
- 11 exceptional skill and perseverance, putting together a thrilling
- 12 23-game winning streak to close out the year and finishing with a
- 13 final record of 47 wins and 16 losses; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Excelling with a true team effort, the Highlanders
- 15 received valuable contributions from each member of the roster
- 16 during the 2021 campaign, and the players thrived under the
- 17 outstanding leadership of head coach Mitch Thompson and his staff;
- 18 and
- 19 WHEREAS, By proving themselves the finest Division I junior
- 20 college team in the nation, the MCC Highlanders have become a source
- 21 of great pride to the college's students, staff, and supporters,
- 22 and they may take great pride in a job well done; now, therefore, be
- 23 it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas

H.R. No. 108

- 1 Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby congratulate the McLennan
- 2 Community College baseball team on winning the 2021 NJCAA Division
- 3 I World Series and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff
- 4 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Kacal

H.R. No. 108

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 108 was adopted by the House on September 2, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House