RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Legendary sportscaster Dale Hansen is retiring from
- 2 WFAA in Dallas after his final show on September 2, 2021, drawing to
- 3 a close an exceptional career with the television station that has
- 4 spanned nearly four decades; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Mr. Hansen has held numerous radio and television
- 6 jobs over the course of almost a half century; he first worked as a
- 7 disc jockey and operations manager at a radio station in Newton,
- 8 Iowa, and then accepted a sports reporter job at KMTV in Omaha,
- 9 Nebraska; he moved to Dallas in 1980, honing his skills at KDFW
- 10 before joining WFAA in 1983; his inaugural WFAA show aired on March
- 11 28 of that year, and soon thereafter, the Channel 8 station debuted
- 12 Dale Hansen's Sports Special, which remains a staple of its Sunday
- 13 night lineup; and
- 14 WHEREAS, A weeknight sports anchor who is one of the most
- 15 recognized personalities in Dallas-Fort Worth TV history,
- 16 Mr. Hansen has played a vital role in helping WFAA hold its ratings
- 17 lead in the coveted 10 p.m. time slot; through the years, he has
- 18 covered every major sports story involving area teams and events,
- 19 including three Stanley Cup Finals, two World Series, two NBA
- 20 Finals, and the 1990s run of success enjoyed by the Dallas Cowboys
- 21 when they won three Super Bowls in four years; and
- WHEREAS, Never one to shy away from hard-hitting and
- 23 controversial topics, Mr. Hansen has earned national attention
- 24 with his award-winning exposés and biting commentaries; much of his

- 1 work has gone viral, leading to profiles in the New York Times and
- 2 the Washington Post and a guest appearance on The Ellen DeGeneres
- 3 Show; in recent years, he has also delivered editorials on pressing
- 4 social issues through his "Unplugged" segment; and
- 5 WHEREAS, In 1987, Mr. Hansen received the George Foster
- 6 Peabody Award for Distinguished Journalism and the Alfred
- 7 I. duPont-Columbia University Award following his investigative
- 8 coverage of a scandal involving the Southern Methodist University
- 9 football program; further, in 2019, he became the first local
- 10 on-air broadcaster to garner the Radio Television Digital News
- 11 Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award; his other honors include the
- 12 Dallas Peace & Justice Center Inspiration Award and multiple Lone
- 13 Star EMMY and Texas Sportscaster of the Year awards; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Widely known as the dean of sportscasters in the
- 15 Lone Star State, Dale Hansen has demonstrated remarkable talent and
- 16 a deep commitment to quality journalism, and he may indeed reflect
- 17 with pride on a job well done; now, therefore, be it
- 18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 19 Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby congratulate sportscaster
- 20 Dale Hansen on his retirement from WFAA in Dallas and extend to him
- 21 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 23 prepared for Mr. Hansen as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 24 House of Representatives.

Davis

Phelan Guerra Neave Guillen Allen Noble Allison Harless Oliverson Harris Anchia Ordaz Perez Anderson Hefner Ortega Ashby Hernandez Paddie Bailes Herrero Parker Beckley Hinojosa Paul Bell of Kaufman Perez Holland Bell of Montgomery Howard Price Bernal Huberty Ramos Biedermann Hull Raney Bonnen Hunter Raymond Israel Reynolds Bowers Buckley Jetton Rodriguez Bucy Johnson of Dallas Rogers A. Johnson of Harris Burns Romero, Jr. Burrows J. Johnson of Harris Rose Kacal Button Rosenthal King of Hemphill King of Parker Cain Sanford Campos Schaefer King of Uvalde Canales Schofield Capriglione Klick Shaheen Krause Sherman, Sr. Cason Clardy Kuempel Shine Cole Slaton Lambert Coleman Landgraf Slawson Collier Larson Smith Cook Leach Smithee Cortez Leman Spiller Craddick Longoria Stephenson Crockett Lopez Stucky Cyrier Lozano Swanson Darby Lucio III Talarico Davis Martinez Thierry Martinez Fischer Thompson of Brazoria Dean Deshotel Metcalf Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Dominguez Meyer Meza Dutton Toth Fierro Middleton Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant Frank Minjarez Frullo VanDeaver Moody Morales of Harris Gates Vasut Morales of Maverick Geren Vo Morales Shaw Gervin-Hawkins Walle Goldman Morrison White Muñoz, Jr. González of Dallas Wilson González of El Paso Murphy Wıı

Zwiener

Murr

Goodwin

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 124 was adopted by the House on September 2, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House