H.R. No. 134

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The family and friends of U.S. Marine Lance Corporal 2 David Lee Espinoza of Laredo suffered an immeasurable loss with the 3 death of this valiant soldier on August 26, 2021, at the age of 20; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, Corporal Espinoza was killed in a suicide bombing 6 attack near the international airport in Kabul, Afghanistan, while 7 assisting with the evacuation of civilians from the country; and

WHEREAS, Born in Laredo and raised in Rio Bravo, David Lee 8 Espinoza was a 2019 graduate of Lyndon B. Johnson High School; his 9 loving family included his mother, Elizabeth Holguin, 10 his 11 stepfather, Victor Manuel Dominguez, and his three younger siblings; after high school, his desire to serve his country 12 inspired him to enlist in the military, and he was stationed in 13 14 Jordan for two years before being transferred to Afghanistan a week before his death; and 15

16 WHEREAS, For his heroism and sacrifice, Americans owe 17 Corporal David Lee Espinoza a debt that the passage of time can 18 never diminish, and his legacy of courageous service will forever 19 be a source of pride to those who knew and loved him; now, 20 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the life of U.S. Marine Lance Corporal David Lee Espinoza and extend heartfelt condolences to all who mourn his passing; and, be it further

1

H.R. No. 134 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Corporal Espinoza.

> King of Uvalde Raymond Guillen

Phelan Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Bonnen Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Cason Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Crockett Cyrier Darby Davis Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Fierro Frank Frullo Gates Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin Guerra

Guillen Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hull Hunter Israel Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Minjarez Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave

Oliverson Ordaz Perez Ortega Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Price Ramos Ranev Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stephenson Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle White Wilson Wu Zwiener

H.R. No. 134

Noble

H.R. No. 134

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 134 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on September 2, 2021.

Chief Clerk of the House