H.R. No. 157

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, El Paso County Judge Ricardo A. Samaniego has

2 demonstrated an admirable commitment to serving his fellow Texans

3 during the COVID-19 pandemic; and

4 WHEREAS, This devoted public official has worked tirelessly

5 to safeguard the health of area residents while ensuring that they

6 continue to receive essential public services; although the

7 pandemic has placed immense burdens on the local community, Judge

8 Samaniego has risen to this unprecedented challenge, and his

9 efforts have been instrumental in helping El Paso County navigate

10 the crisis; and

13

11 WHEREAS, A native of El Paso, Ricardo Samaniego was sworn in

12 as county judge on January 1, 2019; before taking public office, he

worked as a county juvenile probation officer, an interim director

14 for the El Paso County Housing Authority, and as a clinical

15 therapist in El Paso and New Mexico; he also has extensive

16 experience in the private sector, including operating his own

17 businesses; he holds master's degrees in educational psychology,

18 bilingual bicultural education, and international economics and

19 public policy; and

20 WHEREAS, Ricardo Samaniego's decisive leadership has greatly

21 benefited the citizens of El Paso County during a time of heightened

22 danger and uncertainty, and he is truly deserving of special

23 recognition for his impressive achievements; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas

H.R. No. 157

- 1 Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby commend El Paso County
- 2 Judge Ricardo A. Samaniego for his service during the COVID-19
- 3 pandemic and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued
- 4 success in his important work; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Judge Samaniego as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Fierro

H.R. No. 157

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 157 was adopted by the House on September 2, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House