H.R. No. 168

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Team 1116M ROCK-IT-BOTS from North Pointe
- 2 Elementary School in Houston achieved great distinction with its
- 3 outstanding performance at the Live Remote VEX Robotics World
- 4 Championship, held May 17-29, 2021; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Certified by Guinness World Records as the largest
- 6 online robot championship, this year's VEX event featured more than
- 7 1,400 teams from over 30 countries and 49 U.S. states; participants
- 8 competed virtually in live-streamed matches designed to test their
- 9 knowledge of science and engineering principles while also
- 10 improving their teamwork, leadership, and problem-solving skills;
- 11 and
- 12 WHEREAS, Demonstrating tremendous ingenuity and hard work,
- 13 the ROCK-IT-BOTS claimed the Excellence Award in the VEX IQ
- 14 Challenge Elementary School Division and were named Teamwork
- 15 Champions in the Science B Division; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Under the guidance of volunteer coach Sonia Ahsan,
- 17 the North Pointe Elementary team received valuable contributions
- 18 from each of its members: Myreen Ahsan, Sanaya Ali, and Iza Momin;
- 19 and
- 20 WHEREAS, The members of the ROCK-IT-BOTS team are a source of
- 21 great pride to their families and their community, and their
- 22 stellar performance at the VEX Robotics World Championship is
- 23 indeed deserving of special recognition; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas

H.R. No. 168

- 1 Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby congratulate the North
- 2 Pointe Elementary School ROCK-IT-BOTS team on its achievements at
- 3 the 2021 Live Remote VEX Robotics World Championship and extend to
- 4 all those associated with the team sincere best wishes for
- 5 continued success; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

Paul

H.R. No. 168

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 168 was adopted by the House on September 2, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House