## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 3

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Michael Lee, who is retiring as director of Engineering and Safety Operations for the Texas Department of Transportation after 24 years of outstanding service with the agency; and

WHEREAS, After earning a degree in petroleum engineering from Texas A&M University, Michael Lee opened his own residential water well firm in 1988 in Northeast Texas; and

WHEREAS, He joined the Texas Department of Transportation in 1997 as an engineering assistant in Mount Pleasant, and he went on to serve as a transportation engineer in the Marshall and Atlanta area offices; in 2007, he was promoted to the position of area engineer for San Augustine; and

WHEREAS, Michael was hired as director of operations for the Paris District in 2013, and his natural leadership abilities led to his promotion as Maintenance Division director the following year; as a division leader, he encouraged a culture of quality customer service, collaboration, and accountability, and in 2017, he was named director of Engineering and Safety Operations; and

WHEREAS, In his role as director, Michael has improved agency standards for safety and efficiency, and due to his leadership and expertise, the Texas Department of Transportation has become a national model for emergency response; he has set lasting standards for excellence at the department, and he can reflect with pride on his years of distinguished service to the citizens of Texas; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby recognize Michael Lee on his outstanding career and his many contributions to the Lone Star State and extend to him best wishes in all his future endeavors; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Nichols

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on August 9, 2021.

## Secretary of the Senate