SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 26

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the North Texas Commission, which is celebrating 50 years of civic advocacy, education, and collaboration in the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1971, the North Texas Commission was chartered as a nonprofit corporation to help develop and market the Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport and the greater North Texas region; and

WHEREAS, Members of the commission copyrighted the term "Metroplex" as a regional marketing moniker in 1972, and they continued to represent the interests of the region after the airport opened in 1974; over the years, the commission has played an integral role in vital regional developments in such areas as public transportation, air quality, and water resources; in 2009, the organization launched Leadership North Texas, which has brought together the talents of emerging regional leaders who have gone on to become esteemed regional advocates; and

WHEREAS, Today, the North Texas Commission helps address the region's greatest challenges through the work of experts serving in both staff and board roles; these dedicated professionals provide resources to help market the region and create a unified plan for advocacy at the state and federal levels; all who contribute to the success of the North Texas Commission can reflect with pride on the organization's exemplary service in the Metroplex; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby recognize the members, staff, and partners of the North Texas Commission for their commitment to service to the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex and for helping to ensure that North Texas remains an excellent place in which to live and do business; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the commission as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Nelson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on August 19, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate