SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 27

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Bay City Regional Airport, which was selected for the 2021 General Aviation Airport of the Year Award by the Texas Department of Transportation Aviation Division; and

WHEREAS, Nearly a decade ago, new plans for the Bay City Regional Airport were developed, and an era of restoration and modernization began that has transformed the small-town aviation center into a highway for commerce in the community; and

WHEREAS, Upgrades to the long-neglected site started with a massive airfield pavement rehabilitation project and continued with administrative updates, a refreshed terminal, and the creation of an Emergency Plan; and

WHEREAS, Through the use of local funds, the airport was able to construct an 11-unit t-hangar, and with help from the city and Aviation Division, the perimeter fencing was upgraded; grant funding from the United States Federal Emergency Management Agency has enabled the airport to continue operations during power outages; and

WHEREAS, The Bay City Regional Airport is continuing its era of growth by partnering with the Texas Department of Transportation to establish new taxiways and improve drainage; all who have contributed to the success of the airport can reflect with pride on their many accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby recognize all who have played a role in the renovation of the Bay City Regional Airport on their commitment to facility improvement and excellence in service and extend congratulations to them on the airport's 2021 General Aviation Airport of the Year Award; and, be it further

General Aviation Airport of the Year Award; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the airport as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Kolkhorst

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on August 19, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate