SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 60

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the nuclear energy research and work by Natura Resources LLC; Abilene Christian University; and NEXTRA, the Nuclear Energy experimental Testing Research Alliance, a consortium of Abilene Christian University, The University of Texas, Texas A&M University, and Georgia Tech; and

WHEREAS, Natura Resources LLC, Abilene Christian University, and NEXTRA have proposed a molten salt research reactor to be located at Abilene Christian University; and

WHEREAS, The molten salt research reactor is the first step to the research, development, and deployment of commercial molten salt reactors, which enable the production of safe, reliable electricity free of carbon emissions; molten salt reactors also provide medical-quality isotopes used in the treatment of cancer and allow for the transformation of non-potable water into drinking water; and

WHEREAS, Texas serves as a leader in all forms of energy in the United States and throughout the world, and through the support of research, development, and commercial deployment of energy technology, Texas continues to succeed in energy leadership; and

WHEREAS, The proposed molten salt research reactor at Abilene Christian University will facilitate the creation of safe and reliable carbon-free electricity and allow for new drinking water sources, in addition to providing important contributions to the field of medicine and cancer treatment; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby commend Natura Resources LLC, Abilene Christian University, and NEXTRA on their important research and work and extend best wishes for success in their endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for Natura Resources LLC, Abilene Christian University, and NEXTRA as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Buckingham

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on September 2, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate