H.R. No. 95
         WHEREAS, In the aftermath of Hurricane Ida, members of the
  Bedford Fire Department selflessly stepped forward to support their
  fellow first responders and help out their neighbors in
  storm-ravaged areas of Louisiana; and
         WHEREAS, Hurricane Ida made landfall as a Category 4 storm
  near Port Fourchon, Louisiana, on August 29, 2021, bringing heavy
  rains and sustained winds of 150 miles per hour; the storm caused
  flash flooding across parts of southern Louisiana, and the extreme
  weather knocked out power grids, leaving more than one million
  people without electricity; and
         WHEREAS, The Bedford Fire Department, located in Tarrant
  County, Texas, and led by Fire Chief Bill Walker, responded to this
  state of emergency by sending eight firefighters to cities in
  Louisiana that were severely impacted by the storm; the fire crews
  were divided into two groups and deployed in two-week rotations;
  serving under Lieutenant Chris Conner were apparatus operator
  Justin Whiteside and firefighters Jorden Keefer and Josh Terbush,
  and serving under Lieutenant John Henrichsen were apparatus
  operator Derek Ray and firefighters Michael Barnhardt and Tom
  Harrington; while in Louisiana, they helped with cleanup efforts,
  answered emergency calls, and alleviated the burden on local
  agencies; and
         WHEREAS, By traveling out of state to provide assistance to
  those who needed it most, these courageous individuals went above
  and beyond the call of duty, and their actions have earned them the
  profound admiration of their fellow Texans; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
  Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend these eight
  dedicated members of the Bedford Fire Department for rendering aid
  to Louisianans in the wake of Hurricane Ida and extend to each of
  them sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for the Bedford Fire Department as an expression of high
  regard by the Texas House of Representatives.
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 95 was adopted by the House on October
  14, 2021, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House