By: Turner of Tarrant

H.R. No. 35

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The community lounge in the East Library and 2 Recreation Center in Arlington was dedicated in honor of community 3 leader and volunteer Sue Phillips on September 2, 2021; and

WHEREAS, A resident of Arlington since 1979, Ms. Phillips has 4 5 served as president of East Arlington Renewal since 1992, and in that capacity, she has worked with the City of Arlington, the 6 7 Arlington Independent School District, and other civic organizations to help promote a safe and beautiful community for 8 9 all its residents; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Phillips also served on the Parks and Recreation Board for 14 years, including two years as chair, and she helped lead the effort in the 1990s to preserve Johnson Creek; in addition, she has played a vital role in bringing public art to Meadowbrook Park as board president of the Arlington Sculpture Garden Foundation; and

16 WHEREAS, This dynamic woman's many honors include the 2013 17 Individual Outstanding Service Award from the Texas Recreation and 18 Park Society, the 1999-2000 Woman of the Year award from the *Fort* 19 *Worth Star-Telegram*, and recognition as the 2018 Volunteer of the 20 Year from the Arlington Police Department; in all her endeavors, 21 she enjoys the love and support of her husband, Jimmy Phillips, with 22 whom she has shared nearly six decades; and

23 WHEREAS, A committed champion of her community, Sue Phillips 24 may reflect with pride on her many efforts in its behalf and on the

1

H.R. No. 35 1 knowledge that her contributions will benefit her fellow citizens 2 for years to come; now, therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas 4 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commemorate the dedication 5 of the Sue Phillips Community Lounge at the East Library and 6 Recreation Center and extend to Ms. Phillips sincere best wishes 7 for continued success and happiness; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Ms. Phillips as an expression of high regard by the 10 Texas House of Representatives.