## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 12

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Strangers Rest Baptist Church, which is celebrating its 80th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, Strangers Rest Baptist Church began as a Sunday school class in the home of its founding pastor, the late Reverend M. C. Watson, in 1941; a small group of faithful members soon purchased a lot at Donnelly Avenue and Horne Street and built a small-frame sanctuary, and Pastor Watson guided the congregation there until November of 1947; and

WHEREAS, The late Reverend Roy W. West was called to lead the church in 1948, and through his guidance, the church family of 50 flourished and grew to more than 300 members; the church opened a new sanctuary in 1952; and WHEREAS, In 1979, the Strangers Rest congregation elected

WHEREAS, In 1979, the Strangers Rest congregation elected the late Reverend Roy E. West as pastor, and he guided the church through an impressive era of growth and outreach; during his spiritual tenure, the church family grew to 900 members and benefited from a new phase of expansion that included a bi-level educational complex; and

WHEREAS, For the last six years, the church has prospered under the exemplary leadership of the Reverend Eddie Brown Sr.; this devoted minister has ushered in an era of transformation and ministry development that has strengthened the church and its members while promoting a healthier, happier community; and

WHEREAS, Strangers Rest Baptist Church has long been an invaluable source of strength and comfort for its members and a beacon of hope and support for area residents; the celebration of its 80th anniversary is an opportunity for all to reflect on the church's rich history and on the ministries it has established to the benefit of the community; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the church as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Nelson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on September 22, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate