SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 35

In Memory of Lee Roy Gaskamp Jr.

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of Brenham in mourning the loss of Lee Roy Gaskamp Jr., who died September 6, 2021, at the age of 69; and

WHEREAS, A Brenham native, Lee Gaskamp was born on October 15, 1951; he earned his diploma from Sealy High School in 1970, and he attended Blinn College on a band scholarship and went on to graduate from The University of Texas at Austin; and

WHEREAS, A beloved community leader, Lee was the founder of the Bank of Brenham and was active in numerous civic and charitable organizations; he had many close friends and was a member of the Brenham Bible Church; and

WHEREAS, Above all things, Lee cherished his family; he shared 42 years of marriage with Sue Gaskamp, and they were blessed with four children: Russell, Catherine, Sam, and Holly; he was privileged to live close to his extended family, and he cherished time spent visiting his siblings and passing along his infinite wisdom to all his nieces and nephews; and

WHEREAS, Lee loved the citizens of the Brenham community, and he enjoyed jesting with his rival Aggie buddies about football; he could often be found on the Brenham Country Club Golf Course, and he took great pride in drafting his famous annual Christmas letters; and

WHEREAS, A man of great humor, integrity, and civic devotion, Lee Gaskamp will long be remembered with respect and admiration by all who were privileged to share in his life; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Lee Roy Gaskamp Jr.; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Lee Gaskamp.

Kolkhorst

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on September 30, 2021, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate