SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 69

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Laredo College on the occasion of the institution's 75th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, Laredo Junior College was established at the site of historic Fort McIntosh in 1947 to prepare soldiers returning from service in World War II for the nation's new workforce; the institution has flourished through ongoing community support, and today, the community college offers numerous award-winning degree and certification programs for students of Webb, Jim Hogg, and Zapata Counties at two thriving campus locations; and

and Zapata Counties at two thriving campus locations; and WHEREAS, The Laredo College system has earned a reputation for excellence in providing students with the tools they need to build strong foundations for their educational and professional pursuits; campuses offer an array of enriching student life activities, including visual and performing art shows, a plant and wildlife center, multiple veterans services, and numerous continuing education courses through partnerships with local, state, and federal entities in both the public and private sectors; and

WHEREAS, Laredo College has twice been ranked as the Lone Star State's Number One Community College, and the system has received numerous distinctions for its innovative programs and state-of-the-art facilities; all who have contributed to the college's success can reflect with pride on the institution's excellent educational service in South Texas; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby extend best wishes to the staff, faculty, and administrators of Laredo College as they celebrate the school's 75th anniversary; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the college as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on October 13, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate