87R27638 TBO-D
  By: Thierry H.C.R. No. 107
         WHEREAS, Toni Middleton Lewis is retiring from Houston Public
  Works in June 2021, drawing to a close an exemplary career that has
  spanned more than three and a half decades; and
         WHEREAS, A native Houstonian, Ms. Lewis has served the city's
  public works department for 37 years; known by her colleagues as
  "Superwoman," she skillfully manages human resources for her
  section, and at one time, she oversaw the Houston water budget;
  among her many accolades, she has received The Bravo Award, one of
  the most prestigious honors given to an employee of the City of
  Houston, and she has been named Employee of the Year and Supervisor
  of the Year; in addition, she has been recognized in Who's Who in
  Public Works and presented with a Mayor's Volunteer Houston Award;
         WHEREAS, Ms. Lewis has also held a number of civic leadership
  positions, including precinct chair for Harris County Voter
  Precinct No. 0573, treasurer of Texas Senate District No. 13 PAC,
  board member and treasurer of East Sunnyside Civic Club, worthy
  counselor of Grand Court Order of Calanthe Winnie Lee Noble
  Middleton Court No. 3, and member of the Harris County Democratic
  Party audit and steering committees; moreover, she has given
  generously of her time and talents to numerous other organizations
  that serve area residents; and
         WHEREAS, Toni Lewis has greatly benefited her fellow Texans
  through her leadership, professionalism, and commitment to
  excellence, and as she embarks on the next exciting chapter of her
  life, she may indeed reflect with pride on a career well spent; now,
  therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the 87th Legislature of the State of Texas
  hereby congratulate Toni Middleton Lewis on her retirement from
  Houston Public Works and extend to her sincere best wishes for the
  future; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for Ms. Lewis as an expression of high regard by the Texas
  House of Representatives and Senate.