87R9096 CW-D
  By: Reynolds H.R. No. 116
         WHEREAS, Cecil Willis was elected mayor of Stafford in
  December 2020, offering a fitting opportunity to celebrate his many
  accomplishments and his strong ties to the community; and
         WHEREAS, Elected as Stafford's first new mayor in more than a
  half century, Mr. Willis has been extensively involved in
  government and civic affairs since the late 1970s; he is a longtime
  member of the Stafford City Council, having first served from 1979
  to 1995, and he was returned to office in 2000; among his many
  leadership roles, he represents the city council on the
  Houston-Galveston Area Council, is vice chair of the Fort Bend
  County Mayor and Council Association, and is a member of the
  Comprehensive Plan Committee; he formerly served on the city's Home
  Rule Charter Review Commission; and
         WHEREAS, A resident of Stafford since 1975, Mayor Willis is a
  board member and past president of the Fort Bend County Fair
  Association, and he was a director for Fort Bend County Water
  Control and Improvement District No. 2; moreover, he is actively
  involved with the Stafford-Missouri City Lions Club and serves on
  the board of trustees for the University of the West in California;
  he holds a horticulture degree from Texas A&M University and is the
  retired executive director of the Quail Valley Fund; and
         WHEREAS, Cecil Willis brings to his role as Stafford mayor
  many years of experience and achievement in municipal government,
  and he may reflect with pride on his many accomplishments as he
  looks forward to the challenges and opportunities of his new
  position; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate Cecil Willis on his election as the
  mayor of Stafford and extend to him sincere best wishes for a
  successful tenure; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for Mayor Willis as an expression of high regard by the
  Texas House of Representatives.