H.R. No. 1006
         WHEREAS, Six participants in the Serve Sugar Land program,
  Albon Wu, Laaiqa Muhammad, Unna Ramanathan, Gabriel Rodriguez,
  Brenda Frye, and Ted Lieb, have been named 2020 Volunteers of the
  Year; and
         WHEREAS, Every year, Sugar Land city departments select
  exceptional volunteers who help foster an atmosphere of community
  and who enhance the delivery of city services through their
  efforts; each award recipient works with the Serve Sugar Land
  program, an initiative that provides residents with opportunities
  to become involved in municipal government while giving back to the
  community; and
         WHEREAS, This year's recognized volunteers collectively
  contributed more than 800 hours of service to the city in 2020, for
  the equivalent of over $24,000 in in-kind donations; their efforts
  were all the more valuable throughout 2020, as the community coped
  with the many challenges and hardships brought on by the COVID-19
  pandemic; and
         WHEREAS, The six honorees are Albon Wu, who served Parks &
  Recreation, Laaiqa Muhammad, who volunteered with Animal Services,
  Unna Ramanathan, who helped staff the T. E. Harman Center, Gabriel
  Rodriguez, who donated his time to Planning and Development
  Services, Brenda Frye, who volunteered at the Municipal Court, and
  Ted Lieb, who was a member of the Community Assistance Support Team;
         WHEREAS, Those Texans who give freely of their time and
  talents to benefit their fellow residents make the world a better
  place through their actions and their example, and these six
  engaged citizens are indeed deserving of recognition for all that
  they have accomplished in behalf of their community; now,
  therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate Albon Wu, Laaiqa Muhammad, Unna
  Ramanathan, Gabriel Rodriguez, Brenda Frye, and Ted Lieb on being
  named 2020 Volunteers of the Year by the City of Sugar Land and
  extend to them sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it
         RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
  for the volunteers as an expression of high regard by the Texas
  House of Representatives.
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 1006 was adopted by the House on May
  14, 2021, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House