H.R. No. 1471
         WHEREAS, The chess team of The University of Texas Rio Grande
  Valley continued its tradition of excellence by winning the 2021
  President's Cup tournament, claiming its third consecutive title in
  this prestigious event; and
         WHEREAS, Joining the other three top collegiate teams in the
  country for the President's Cup virtual competition on April 3 and
  4, the UTRGV players staged an impressive comeback, overtaking
  Saint Louis University on the final day of the tournament to win the
  championship; the "three-peat" triumph follows first-place cup
  finishes in 2018 and 2019, with the 2020 event being cancelled due
  to the COVID-19 pandemic; and
         WHEREAS, The Vaqueros were paced by grandmaster Kamil Dragun,
  who placed third in the individual scoring; grandmasters Mateusz
  Bartel, Hovhannes Gabuzyan, and Vladimir Belous also contributed to
  the team's point total, finishing fifth, sixth, and seventh,
  respectively; the team also received valuable contributions
  throughout the year from the other members of the roster: Vladimir
  Fedoseev, Sanan Syugirov, Ildar Khayrullin, Irakli Beradze, Ulvi
  Bajarani, Felix Ynojosa, Yannick Rajesh Kambrath, and Askar
  Nurbekov; these accomplished players benefited from the leadership
  and support of head coach Bartlomiej Macieja, associate dean of
  students Douglas Stoves, and program manager Aleksander Mista; and
         WHEREAS, The 2020-2021 season also marked the first time
  UTRGV sent its women's players into competition; the individuals
  who proudly represented their school included Yuliia Osmak, Alicja
  Sliwicka, Julia Antolak, Ana Shamatava, Lauren Tovias, and Lorena
  Garcia Ramon; and
         WHEREAS, Through the skill, hard work, and unwavering
  determination of its members, the UTRGV chess program has
  established itself as one of the most successful in the nation, and
  all those associated with the team are to be commended for their
  achievements; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate The University of Texas Rio Grande
  Valley chess team on winning the 2021 President's Cup tournament
  and extend to the players and staff sincere best wishes for the
  future; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
  House of Representatives.
  Lucio III
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 1471 was adopted by the House on May
  26, 2021, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House