H.R. No. 1767
         WHEREAS, Americans across the land are gathering on
  Thanksgiving, November 24, 2022, to reflect on the many blessings
  the year has brought; and
         WHEREAS, The history of this cherished celebration spans four
  centuries, tracing its roots back to 1621; met by a harsh New
  England winter that year, the struggling European settlers at
  Plymouth Rock received welcome assistance from the Wampanoag
  people, who taught them vital farming and survival techniques; in a
  display of gratitude toward God for answering their prayers for
  help, the Pilgrims held a three-day feast, and together with their
  Wampanoag neighbors, they enjoyed the fruits of a bountiful
  harvest; and
         WHEREAS, The Thanksgiving holiday was first officially
  observed more than 150 years later, soon after the founding fathers
  established this great nation; in George Washington's first
  presidential proclamation in 1789, he enacted a day of thanksgiving
  and prayer to acknowledge the "many signal favors of Almighty God"
  that had been bestowed on the American people; and
         WHEREAS, Decades later, in the tumultuous days of the Civil
  War, President Abraham Lincoln delivered the Thanksgiving Day
  proclamation that would set the standard for every president that
  followed; in his now famous speech, he urged Americans to call on
  "the Almighty hand" to heal the Union and implored the people to
  remember the source from which "the blessings of fruitful fields
  and healthful skies" come; and
         WHEREAS, Today, the Thanksgiving holiday, observed each year
  on the fourth Thursday in November, is one of our most dearly held
  traditions, offering an opportunity to join with family and friends
  in expressing appreciation for the many gifts of the past year; now,
  therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
  Legislature hereby commemorate Thanksgiving 2022.
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 1767 was adopted by the House on May
  29, 2021, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House