By: Murr

H.B. No. 2613

## A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 1 AN ACT 2 relating to the composition of the court of appeals districts. 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: SECTION 1. The purpose of this Act is to make a statewide 4 5 reapportionment of the court of appeals districts into which this state is divided under Section 6, Article V, Texas Constitution. 6 7 SECTION 2. Sections 22.201(f), (g), and (m), Government Code, are amended to read as follows: 8

9 (f) The Fifth Court of Appeals District is composed of the 10 counties of Collin, Dallas, Grayson, [Hunt,] Kaufman, and Rockwall.

(g) The Sixth Court of Appeals District is composed of the counties of Bowie, Camp, Cass, Delta, Fannin, Franklin, [Gregg,] Harrison, Hopkins, Hunt, Lamar, Marion, Morris, Panola, Red River, [Rusk,] Titus, Upshur, and Wood.

(m) The Twelfth Court of Appeals District is composed of the
counties of Anderson, Angelina, Cherokee, Gregg, Henderson,
Houston, Nacogdoches, Rains, Rusk, Sabine, San Augustine, Shelby,
Smith, Trinity, and [Upshur,] Van Zandt[, and Wood].

19 SECTION 3. Cases and other matters pending before a court of 20 appeals from a county that is transferred by this Act to another 21 court of appeals may be transferred as necessary to carry out the 22 purpose of this Act and ensure the efficient administration of 23 justice.

24

SECTION 4. This Act takes effect September 1, 2021.

1