H.R. No. 11

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Civic activist Iris Lopez of El Paso was recognized 2 on September 14, 2020, with the unveiling of a mural created in her 3 honor; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Lopez is the founder and executive director of 4 5 The Mija Project, a community organization that advocates for the empowerment of women through the "Mija, Yes you can" platform; 6 7 established as a national outreach for women of all ages, races, and ethnicities, the project supports other nonprofits, provides 8 scholarships, offers workshops and conferences for students and 9 professionals, and addresses mental health issues; the mural was 10 painted by Martin "Blaster" Zubia in coordination with the Estrella 11 12 Jalisco Artists in Residence program; and

WHEREAS, A native of El Paso, Ms. Lopez serves as a general assignments reporter and a weekend weather anchor for ABC-7 TV, where she also hosts the KVIA "Sunday Funday Moment" segment; she began her career with El Paso radio station 104.3 HITfm, and through the years, she has earned a reputation as an outstanding mentor to many young female broadcasters; she holds a multimedia journalism degree from The University of Texas at El Paso; and

20 WHEREAS, Setting an inspiring example of community 21 leadership and engagement, Iris Lopez has made a positive and 22 lasting difference in the lives of countless women, and it is truly 23 a pleasure to honor her for her contributions to the greater good; 24 now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 11

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
Legislature hereby commend Iris Lopez for her exemplary advocacy
work as the founder and executive director of The Mija Project and
extend to her sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Ms. Lopez as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Fierro

H.R. No. 11

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 11 was adopted by the House on March 10, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House