H.R. No. 36

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The citizens of Jim Hogg County have lost a 2 respected public servant with the death of Justice of the Peace 3 Julia Kathryn Fox Huff on October 4, 2020, at the age of 74; and

WHEREAS, The former Julia Fox was born on August 27, 1946, in Corpus Christi; her family later moved to Rockport, and she loved riding her cherished horse, Maggie, on the beach; she met her future husband, Chris Huff, at a dance in Corpus Christi, and the couple married on May 24, 1968; they eventually became the parents of two children, John and Susan, and the family settled in Hebbronville after living in Kingsville and Rio Grande City; and

11 WHEREAS, Deeply committed to her South Texas community, 12 Mrs. Huff was proud to serve Jim Hogg County for 18 years as the 13 justice of the peace for Precinct 2; she also gave her time to the 14 District of Innovation Advisory Committee for the Jim Hogg County 15 Independent School District; moreover, she was a beloved friend to 16 many and a warm and generous supporter of all their endeavors; and

WHEREAS, Although Julia Huff is deeply missed, memories of her dedicated service to others and her radiant smile will forever be cherished by those she leaves behind; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas 21 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Judge Julia Kathryn 22 Fox Huff and extend heartfelt sympathy to the members of her family: 23 to her husband, Chris Huff; to her children, John Huff and Susan 24 Huff Douglas; to her grandchildren, Christopher, Camille, and Cate

1

H.R. No. 36 1 Douglas, and Kailey, Sean, and Courtney Huff; and to her many other 2 relatives and friends; and, be it further

3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 4 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of 5 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Julia Huff. Guillen

H.R. No. 36

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 36 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 10, 2021.

Chief Clerk of the House