H.R. No. 52

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Trinity community lost an esteemed civic leader 2 with the passing of Wilson Hayne Huffman on January 20, 2021, at the 3 age of 80; and

WHEREAS, The son of Ervin and Grace Huffman, Hayne Huffman was born on November 13, 1940, in Lovelady and grew up with a twin brother, Wayne, and four other siblings, Oscar, John Floyd, H. L., and Ella; and

WHEREAS, Dedicated to protecting and serving his fellow 8 9 citizens, Mr. Huffman worked for the Trinity County Sheriff's Office for more than three decades, and he was employed as the 10 11 access control chief for the Westwood Shores gated community; he 12 was also a constable and justice of the peace, and he served as chief of the Trinity Volunteer Fire Department and as a member of 13 14 the boards of the Trinity County Appraisal District and the Trinity Independent School District; a man of faith, he was a valued 15 16 congregant of Trinity Church of God; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Huffman and his first wife, Sue, became the proud parents of four children, Mark, Brad, Monty, and Beth; he was later joined in matrimony to his second wife, Laura, with whom he shared a rewarding union; his treasured family grew to include three stepchildren, Kyle, Tenille, and Jennie, as well as 30 grandchildren, 7 step-grandchildren, and 24 great-grandchildren; and

24

WHEREAS, Hayne Huffman lived a life that was rich in personal

1

1 and professional achievements, and he will forever be a source of 2 inspiration to those he leaves behind; now, therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas 4 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Wilson Hayne 5 Huffman and extend sincere condolences to all who mourn his 6 passing; and, be it further

7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 8 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 9 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Hayne 10 Huffman.

Ashby

H.R. No. 52

2

H.R. No. 52

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 52 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 10, 2021.

Chief Clerk of the House