H.R. No. 130

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Our communities draw immeasurable strength from
- 2 individuals such as Dr. Kathryn Kotrla of Leander, whose
- 3 contributions to the House District 136 Neighbor to Neighbor Food
- 4 and Wellness Program have greatly benefited area Texans; and
- 5 WHEREAS, In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the program
- 6 was established through a partnership between Hill Country
- 7 Community Ministries and the offices of State Representative John
- 8 Bucy III and a bipartisan group of local leaders to check in on area
- 9 senior citizens and people with disabilities and to provide them
- 10 with food deliveries; and
- 11 WHEREAS, This noteworthy initiative benefits from many
- 12 dedicated volunteers, including Dr. Kotrla, who has given
- 13 generously of her time to help some of the most vulnerable local
- 14 residents; on March 27, 2020, the program made its first
- 15 contactless deliveries to those with an urgent need for food; the
- 16 service has since grown to support more than 120 families each week,
- 17 and volunteers have delivered upwards of 40,000 meals; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Through her diligent work with the Neighbor to
- 19 Neighbor Food and Wellness Program, Dr. Kathryn Kotrla has
- 20 demonstrated the power that all citizens have to make a positive
- 21 difference, and it is indeed fitting that she be recognized for her
- 22 commitment to being a force for good; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby commend Dr. Kathryn Kotrla for her contributions

H.R. No. 130

- 1 to the House District 136 Neighbor to Neighbor Food and Wellness
- 2 Program and extend to her sincere best wishes for the future; and,
- 3 be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Dr. Kotrla as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Bucy

Η	ח	NT a	130
\neg	ĸ	NO	1 7 1 1

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 130 was adopted by the House on March 10, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House