H.R. No. 142

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Our communities draw immeasurable strength from 2 individuals such as the Honorable Heather Jefts of Cedar Park,

3 whose contributions to the House District 136 Neighbor to Neighbor

4 Food and Wellness Program have greatly benefited area Texans; and

5 WHEREAS, In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the program

6 was established through a partnership between Hill Country

7 Community Ministries and the offices of State Representative John

8 Bucy III and a bipartisan group of local leaders to check in on area

9 senior citizens and people with disabilities and to provide them

10 with food deliveries; and

11 WHEREAS, This noteworthy initiative benefits from many

12 dedicated volunteers, including Ms. Jefts, who has given generously

13 of her time to help some of the most vulnerable local residents; on

14 March 27, 2020, the program made its first contactless deliveries

15 to those with an urgent need for food; the service has since grown

16 to support more than 120 families each week, and volunteers have

17 delivered upwards of 40,000 meals; and

18 WHEREAS, Through her diligent work with the Neighbor to

19 Neighbor Food and Wellness Program, the Honorable Heather Jefts has

20 demonstrated the power that all citizens have to make a positive

21 difference, and it is indeed fitting that she be recognized for her

22 commitment to being a force for good; now, therefore, be it

23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas

24 Legislature hereby commend the Honorable Heather Jefts for her

H.R. No. 142

- 1 contributions to the House District 136 Neighbor to Neighbor Food
- 2 and Wellness Program and extend to her sincere best wishes for the
- 3 future; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Ms. Jefts as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Bucy

TT	_	1 T -	1 1 7
Н	\sim	$N \cap$	1 /1 /

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 142 was adopted by the House on March 10, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House