## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The members of the House of Representatives of the 2 87th Texas Legislature are pleased to honor the city of Chandler and to recognize all those who are participating in the Chandler 3 legislative day on May 7, 2021; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Nestled between Kickapoo Creek and the Neches River, the area was originally home to the Delaware, Cherokee, and 6 7 Kickapoo peoples; in 1859, Alphonso H. Chandler and Mary A. Brooks Chandler, along with their seven children, settled in the area, 8 9 naming it Stillwater; Mr. Chandler opened a general store and a post office, and in 1880 the town was renamed in his honor; that 10 11 same year, he gave a tract of land to the Texas and St. Louis 12 Railway for a new, permanent depot, which brought new businesses to the area; by 1890, Chandler had a cotton gin, a mill, a school, and 13 14 two churches; over the years, fruit farming became a main source of income, and canning and crate factories were established; and 15 16 WHEREAS, Today, Chandler is a growing community of more than 3,000 people, and the strong workforce supports industry in 17 Henderson, Van Zandt, and Smith Counties; residents and visitors 18 alike enjoy opportunities for fishing and watersports at Winchester 19 20 Park, River Park and Lake Palestine; historical places include the 21 restored Cottonbelt Train Depot and the restored home of Senator Ralph Yarborough that now serves as the Chandler Museum and 22 23 Visitors Center, both of which sit in the picturesque McCain Park; 24 and

H.R. No. 153

- 1 WHEREAS, With a growing economy and a promising future, the
- 2 residents of Chandler may indeed take great pride in their
- 3 contributions to the story of the Lone Star State; now, therefore,
- 4 be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby honor the city of Chandler and extend to its
- 7 citizens sincere best wishes for the future.

Bell of Kaufman

П	D	No.	152
н	ĸ	131()	173

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 153 was adopted by the House on March 10, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House