H.R. No. 170

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Steve Landin concluded his service as the City of
- 2 Laredo's emergency management coordinator and fire chief on May 15,
- 3 2020, after three decades with the city; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Chief Landin first joined the City of Laredo in
- 5 1990, and over the years, he distinguished himself in a variety of
- 6 positions and earned the respect and admiration of both the
- 7 community and his fellow firefighters; a leader in his profession,
- 8 he has served as a state representative for the International
- 9 Association of Fire Fighters; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Rising steadily through the ranks, Chief Landin
- 11 became the Laredo emergency management coordinator in 2005, and for
- 12 12 years, he was also the city's fire chief; during his exemplary
- 13 tenure, he helped lead the city through three federally declared
- 14 disasters as well as the early months of the COVID-19 pandemic; and
- WHEREAS, On June 1, 2020, Chief Landin was appointed as the
- 16 emergency management coordinator of Webb County, where he has
- 17 demonstrated the same skill and dedication with which he served the
- 18 City of Laredo; and
- WHEREAS, Steve Landin's hard work, integrity, and commitment
- 20 to preserving the safety of the public have greatly benefited the
- 21 people of Laredo, and he may indeed take great pride in his long
- 22 tenure with the city as he takes on the challenges and opportunities
- 23 of his new position; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas

H.R. No. 170

- 1 Legislature hereby commend Chief Steve Landin for his outstanding
- 2 service to the City of Laredo and extend to him sincere best wishes
- 3 for continued success in his important work; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Chief Landin as an expression of high regard by the
- 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Raymond

TT	ח	TAT C	170
н	ĸ	NO	1 / ( )

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 170 was adopted by the House on March 10, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House