H.R. No. 254

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, El Paso Community College (EPCC) has earned national 2 recognition as a 2021-2022 Silver-level Military Friendly School; 3 and

WHEREAS, The Military Friendly Schools list is compiled each year by Viqtory, Inc., a veteran-owned small business founded in 2001, based on a survey of more than 8,800 schools nationwide; for over a decade, the Military Friendly Schools designation has been awarded to higher education institutions that have gone above and beyond to support service members and their families as they navigate the transition to civilian life; and

11 WHEREAS, El Paso Community College is dedicated to meeting 12 the unique needs of more than 3,000 military members, veterans, and families; EPCC operates a Veterans Resource Center, where 13 14 military-connected students can access information and assistance with their educational benefits and other amenities designed to 15 16 enhance their campus experience; in addition, the school offers these students help with registering for classes, completing degree 17 programs, and exploring their educational and employment options; 18 19 and

20 WHEREAS, Americans owe a profound debt of gratitude to the 21 men and women who have answered our nation's call to duty, and El 22 Paso Community College has demonstrated an admirable commitment to 23 ensuring that military personnel are able to achieve their academic 24 and career goals; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 254

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate El Paso Community College on 3 earning recognition as a 2021-2022 Silver-level Military Friendly 4 School and extend sincere best wishes to those who administer and 5 benefit from EPCC veterans services programs; and, be it further 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

7 prepared for EPCC as an expression of high regard by the Texas House 8 of Representatives.

Fierro

H.R. No. 254

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 254 was adopted by the House on March 18, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House