By: Canales H.R. No. 367

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Pedro Alvarez, Pharr District engineer for the Texas

2 Department of Transportation, received the President's

3 Transportation Award for Planning from the American Association of

4 State Highway and Transportation Officials at the group's annual

5 awards ceremony on November 9, 2020; and

6 WHEREAS, Each year, the AASHTO honors select members for

7 their exemplary service and positive impact on transportation

8 nationwide or on a regional basis with the President's

9 Transportation Awards; and

10 WHEREAS, "Pete" Alvarez is one of only eight individuals from

11 across the country to receive this prestigious honor in 2020; he is

12 being recognized for his outstanding achievement in leading the

13 consolidation of three regional planning agencies into a single

14 combined organization; the result of his efforts, the Rio Grande

15 Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization, serves more than 1.4

16 million people and will allow the Rio Grande Valley to compete for

17 funding opportunities for infrastructure and to create the

18 possibility for future economic development; and

19 WHEREAS, A graduate of The University of Texas at Austin,

20 Mr. Alvarez joined TxDOT full-time in 1995 as an engineering

21 assistant at the Pharr District office; he earned his professional

22 engineer's license in 1999 and for a decade served as the Pharr

23 district design, construction, and assistant area engineer; from

24 2007 until 2013, he was the director of maintenance, and in 2013 he

H.R. No. 367

- 1 became the deputy district engineer; after two years as the Laredo
- 2 district engineer, Mr. Alvarez returned to his home district to
- 3 shepherd the agency consolidation; and
- WHEREAS, The skill, professionalism, and commitment to
- 5 excellence demonstrated by Pete Alvarez have made him an important
- 6 asset to TxDOT, and he may reflect with pride on his
- 7 accomplishments, knowing that he has rendered invaluable service to
- 8 his fellow citizens; now, therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby congratulate Pete Alvarez on his receipt of the
- 11 2020 President's Transportation Award for Planning from the
- 12 American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials
- 13 and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be
- 14 it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for Mr. Alvarez as an expression of high regard by the
- 17 Texas House of Representatives.