By: Davis

H.R. No. 438

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The DeSoto High School girls' basketball team closed
out an unforgettable year in triumphant fashion by winning the 2021
University Interscholastic League 6A state championship; and

WHEREAS, Following a stellar performance in the regular 4 5 season, the Lady Eagles continued to showcase their stifling defense in the playoffs; opening with wins over Killeen Shoemaker, 6 7 Tyler Legacy, Garland Sachse, and Langham Creek High Schools, DeSoto went on to upend defending state champion Duncanville High 8 9 52-39 for the regional crown; moving on to the state tournament at the Alamodome in San Antonio, the team bested South Grand Prairie 10 11 High 63-52 in the semifinals to advance to the championship game on 12 March 11; and

13 WHEREAS, Determined to reverse the heartbreak of 2019, when 14 their title bid fell short by three points, the Lady Eagles battled for the crown against top-ranked and undefeated Cypress Creek High 15 16 School; after trailing by 11 points in the second quarter, DeSoto ignited an impressive run to claim a 27-24 halftime lead; the Lady 17 Eagles dominated the rest of the way, shutting down their foe's 18 high-powered offense and sealing the outcome from the free-throw 19 20 line; prevailing by the decisive score of 53-37, the DeSoto players 21 celebrated the first state championship in program history; and

22 WHEREAS, The Lady Eagles were led by championship game Most 23 Valuable Player Sa'Myah Smith, who joined Kendall Brown and Ayanna 24 Thompson on the 6A All-Tournament Team; the Lady Eagles also

1

H.R. No. 438

received valuable contributions throughout the year from the other
members of the roster: DeShayla Harris, Mylasia Smith, Kayla
Glover, Ja'Mia Harris, Miah Payton, Tionna Herron, Jiya Perry,
Michayla Gatewood, Amina Muhammad, Kaliyah Parker, Ariyanna Hines,
Nadia Johnson, and Nisaa Muhammad; and

WHEREAS, These talented student-athletes were ably guided by 6 7 head coach Andrea Robinson and assistant coaches Kadi Creel, 8 Catherine Williams, and Darmarcous Crockett; the team also received enthusiastic support from superintendent Dr. D'Andre Weaver, 9 10 principal Shon Joseph, director of athletics Larry Davis, athletic trainer David Young, student manager Mykali Ford, student trainers 11 12 Corrie Crawford and Khiya Cockerham, and statistician James Beal; 13 and

WHEREAS, Winning a state championship represents the culmination of countless hours of hard work and an unwavering commitment to excellence, and the members of the DeSoto girls' basketball team will treasure the memory of this accomplishment for the rest of their lives; now, therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas 20 Legislature hereby congratulate the DeSoto High School girls' 21 basketball team on winning the 2021 UIL 6A state championship and 22 extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best 23 wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

2