H.R. No. 472

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Officer David C. Barnett III of the Fort Worth
- 2 Police Department demonstrated great compassion, composure, and
- 3 professionalism in response to an emergency on October 17, 2020;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, On that date, Officer Barnett was called to the home
- 6 of a man who was threatening to shoot himself; Officer Barnett spoke
- 7 calmly with the man and appealed to his religious faith to convince
- 8 him to reconsider, and he ultimately succeeded in persuading the
- 9 man to surrender his weapon and consent to receiving mental health
- 10 treatment; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Officer Barnett served in the United States Navy for
- 12 10 years before deciding to follow in his father's footsteps by
- 13 pursuing a career in law enforcement; he earned his bachelor's
- 14 degree in criminal justice from Columbia College, and he first
- 15 worked for the Dallas Police Department for three years; he has
- 16 served with the Fort Worth Police Department for the past four
- 17 years, and he is currently assigned as a South Division patrol
- 18 officer; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Through his skillful handling of a difficult
- 20 situation, Officer David Barnett helped avert a potential tragedy,
- 21 and he has distinguished himself as a credit to his department and
- 22 to the law enforcement community; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby commend Officer David C. Barnett III for his

H.R. No. 472

- 1 lifesaving actions on October 17, 2020, and extend to him sincere
- 2 best wishes for continued success with his important work; and, be
- 3 it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Officer Barnett as an expression of high regard by the
- 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Romero, Jr.

| TT | _     | 7. T     | 170   |
|----|-------|----------|-------|
| н  | $\nu$ | $N \cap$ | / / / |
|    |       |          |       |

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 472 was adopted by the House on April 9, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House