H.R. No. 492

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Students from Waltrip High School distinguished
- 2 themselves through their participation in the Houston Urban Debate
- 3 League Tournament 5 on January 16, 2021; and
- 4 WHEREAS, HUDL is a nonprofit organization committed to the
- 5 advancement of debate in Houston schools; it helps partner schools
- 6 host weekend tournaments where hundreds of students argue their
- 7 cases in a number of debate categories, including public forum,
- 8 Lincoln-Douglas, Congress, policy and cross examination, and world
- 9 schools; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The Waltrip High team included freshman debate
- 11 partners Meredith Mooreland and Evan Weltin, who competed at the
- 12 varsity level and advanced to the finals in public forum debate; the
- 13 pair won first place for their arguments on the National Security
- 14 Act, and they were named Top Speakers in their category; in
- 15 addition, Alex Barnes earned fourth place in congressional debate;
- 16 led by debate teacher Marsha Jump, the team also benefited from the
- 17 impressive performances of its other participants, including
- 18 Miranda Noonan, Melody Longoria, Pete Chavez, and Luis Tiburcio;
- 19 and
- 20 WHEREAS, These talented young Texans have demonstrated
- 21 exceptional dedication, intellect, and skill, and they may indeed
- 22 reflect with pride on their notable accomplishments; now,
- 23 therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas

H.R. No. 492

- 1 Legislature hereby commend the Waltrip High School debate team on
- 2 its performance at the Houston Urban Debate League Tournament 5 in
- 3 January 2021 and extend to its members sincere best wishes for the
- 4 future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Morales Shaw A. Johnson of Harris

H.R.	No.	492

a 1 5 11 --

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 492 was adopted by the House on April 9, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House