H.R. No. 540

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The academic decathlon team from Dulles High School

2 in Sugar Land won its fifth consecutive 6A state championship at the

3 2021 Texas Academic Decathlon; and

WHEREAS, The academic decathlon program for the 2020-2021

5 school year focuses on the Cold War, and at each meet, participating

6 teams compete in 10 events that cover a range of subjects, including

7 math, science, language, art, music, economics, social science,

8 essay, speech, and interview; and

23

9 WHEREAS, Competing in the 6A division, which consists of

10 large schools, the Dulles High academic decathlon team won a

11 combined total of \$18,500 in scholarships, 22 individual medals,

12 and 3 perfect scores in the 2021 state championship, with Kathryn

13 Phung earning first place in overall honors, Ashith Regi earning

14 second place in overall honors, Saloni Modi earning fourth place in

15 overall honors, Abigail Diltz earning first place in overall

16 scholastic, and Jeffrey Jiang earning third place in overall

17 scholastic; other members of the roster also contributed to the

18 team's impressive showing, including Anthony Pasala, Kevin Duong,

19 Leah Melendez, and Conrad Leung; moreover, the team has benefited

20 from the able leadership of coaches Kelsey Halfen, Andrew Hartman,

21 Mark Rosenbalm, Casey Johnston, and Rybecca Kirkpatrick; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Dulles High academic decathlon

team have ably represented their school and community, and the

24 exemplary skill and dedication they have demonstrated is sure to

H.R. No. 540

- 1 serve them well in the years ahead; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby congratulate the Dulles High School academic
- 4 decathlon team on winning first place in the 6A division of the
- 5 Texas Academic Decathlon and extend to its members sincere best
- 6 wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 9 House of Representatives.

Jetton

TT	ח	TAT C	540
н	ĸ	$N \cap$	740

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 540 was adopted by the House on April 16, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House