H.R. No. 572

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, From February 13-17, 2021, a historic winter storm 2 swept across the state and brought significant snowfall, freezing 3 rain, and sustained, below-freezing temperatures to the Central 4 Texas area; and

WHEREAS, The winter conditions resulted in blackouts that 5 impacted nearly 200,000 Austin Energy homes and more throughout the 6 7 Travis County area, forcing many Texans to contend with freezing weather without heat or electricity; as ice accumulated on 8 9 roadways, some area residents were unable to obtain food or make trips for other essential items, and the record-low temperatures 10 11 also led to frozen or burst pipes that left many without running 12 water; and

WHEREAS, During this unprecedented event, leaders and citizens of Central Texas stepped up to provide food, water, and other resources to community members in need; many of them were experiencing their own hardships at this time, and some braved dangerous road conditions in order to reach and render aid to their vulnerable neighbors; and

WHEREAS, Among those who distinguished themselves in the midst of this crisis was Celinda Garza, who served as a frontline worker at H-E-B and delivered supplies to House District 50 residents; and

23 WHEREAS, Winter Storm Uri was a natural disaster of historic 24 magnitude for our state, and Central Texans are profoundly grateful

1

1 for the caring individuals who went above and beyond during this 2 challenging time for their community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas Legislature hereby honor Celinda Garza for providing vital help to her neighbors during Winter Storm Uri and extend to her sincere appreciation for her hard work and selfless service; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Ms. Garza as an expression of high regard by the Texas 10 House of Representatives.

Israel

H.R. No. 572

2

H.R. No. 572

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 572 was adopted by the House on April 16, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House