H.R. No. 578

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, From February 13-17, 2021, a historic winter storm 2 swept across the state and brought significant snowfall, freezing 3 rain, and sustained, below-freezing temperatures to the Central 4 Texas area; and

WHEREAS, The winter conditions resulted in blackouts that 5 impacted nearly 200,000 Austin Energy homes and more throughout the 6 7 Travis County area, forcing many Texans to contend with freezing weather without heat or electricity; as ice accumulated on 8 roadways, some area residents were unable to obtain food or make 9 trips for other essential items, and the record-low temperatures 10 11 also led to frozen or burst pipes that left many without running 12 water; and

WHEREAS, During this unprecedented event, leaders and citizens of Central Texas stepped up to provide food, water, and other resources to community members in need; many of them were experiencing their own hardships at this time, and some braved dangerous road conditions in order to reach and render aid to their vulnerable neighbors; and

19 WHEREAS, Among those who distinguished themselves in the 20 midst of this crisis was Herman Whitney, who helped organize 21 volunteers to assist Austin residents in need; and

22 WHEREAS, Winter Storm Uri was a natural disaster of historic 23 magnitude for our state, and Central Texans are profoundly grateful 24 for the caring individuals who went above and beyond during this

1

H.R. No. 578

1 challenging time for their community; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas 3 Legislature hereby honor Herman Whitney for providing vital help to 4 his neighbors during Winter Storm Uri and extend to him sincere 5 appreciation for his hard work and selfless service; and, be it 6 further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Mr. Whitney as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.

Israel

H.R. No. 578

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 578 was adopted by the House on April 16, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House