By: Bucy H.R. No. 626

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Cedar Park High School girls' basketball team 2 closed out a historic season by winning the 2021 University Interscholastic League 5A state championship on March 10 at the 3 Alamodome in San Antonio; and 4 5 WHEREAS, During the regular season, the Lady Timberwolves lost just a single game early in the year and went on to sweep the 6 league schedule and claim their fourth straight district title; 7 continuing to excel in the playoffs, they bested Kerrville Tivy, 8

9 San Antonio Highlands, Comal Canyon, and Corpus Christi Veterans

Memorial High Schools to reach the regional final 10

11 Georgetown; playing stifling defense that almost completely shut

12 down their opponent's scoring, the Cedar Park players recorded a

commanding 44-12 win, earning the school's first trip to the state 13

14 tournament; the team then bested Beaumont United High 75-51 in the

semifinals to advance to the title game; and 15

16 WHEREAS, Top-ranked Cedar Park battled for the crown against defending state champion Frisco Liberty High School; the Lady 17 Timberwolves took charge early, building a double-digit lead by the 18 third quarter, but were tested late in the game; clinging to a one 19 20 point lead with three and a half minutes remaining, the Cedar Park players gathered themselves and then demonstrated tremendous 21 resolve down the stretch; they outscored Liberty 12-6 in the 22 23 closing minutes and triumphed by the final score of 46-39, clinching the inaugural state basketball championship for their

24

- 1 school and for the entire Leander Independent School District; and
- WHEREAS, The Lady Timberwolves were led by championship game
- 3 Most Valuable Player Gisella Maul, who joined Sarai Estupinan and
- 4 Shelby Hayes on the 5A All-Tournament Team; Cedar Park also
- 5 received valuable contributions throughout the season from the
- 6 other members of the roster: Molly Ly, Amesley Davis, Elaine King,
- 7 Isabel Peters, Megan Woods, Alisa Knight, Madison Radke, Rece
- 8 Prater-Merrill, Anna Minor, and Angie Sacco; and
- 9 WHEREAS, These dedicated athletes were ably guided by head
- 10 coach Donny Ott and assistant coaches Kami Williamson,
- 11 J. R. Romero, and Rebecca Zabel-Brewer; the squad also received
- 12 vital support from student trainer Seyda Aleman, student assistants
- 13 Dora Ann Cooper, Katie Whitmarsh, Hope Rasberry, Ridgely Hernandez,
- 14 Avery Allmer, and Bree Bland, athletic trainers Stefany Austin and
- 15 David Bowman, and radio announcers Mike Rose and Brad Cones; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Winning a state championship represents the
- 17 culmination of countless hours of hard work and an unwavering
- 18 commitment to excellence, and the Cedar Park Lady Timberwolves are
- 19 a source of great pride to their school and community; now,
- 20 therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby congratulate the Cedar Park High School girls'
- 23 basketball team on winning the 2021 UIL 5A state championship and
- 24 extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best
- 25 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 26 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 27 prepared for the Lady Timberwolves as an expression of high regard

H.R. No. 626

1 by the Texas House of Representatives.