H.R. No. 643

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Baylor University women's basketball team
- 2 furthered its proud tradition of excellence during the 2020-2021
- 3 season by winning the Big 12 regular season and tournament
- 4 championships and advancing to the Elite Eight of the NCAA Division
- 5 I Women's Basketball Tournament; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Suffering just two losses during their regular
- 7 schedule, the Lady Bears went 17-1 against their league rivals to
- 8 capture their 11th consecutive Big 12 season crown, and in so doing,
- 9 they joined five other programs for the longest such streak in
- 10 Division I women's basketball history; in the Big 12 tournament,
- 11 Baylor defeated Texas Christian, Texas, and West Virginia, cruising
- 12 to its third consecutive tournament championship; and
- WHEREAS, The Big 12 tournament triumph earned the Lady Bears
- 14 an invitation to the "Big Dance" of the NCAA tournament; as the
- 15 number two seed in the River Walk Region, Baylor routed Jackson
- 16 State and Virginia Tech in the first two games and then met Michigan
- 17 in a nail-biting showdown in the regional semifinals; the Lady
- 18 Bears prevailed 78-75 in overtime to advance to the Elite Eight
- 19 round of the tournament, where their season came to an end in a
- 20 hard-fought loss to Connecticut; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Baylor players received numerous accolades for
- 22 their exceptional play during the season; Junior NaLyssa Smith was
- 23 named the Big 12 Women's Basketball Player of the Year as well as
- 24 the conference tournament's Most Outstanding Player; seniors

H.R. No. 643

- 1 DiJonai Carrington and Moon Ursin joined her on the All-Tournament
- 2 Team, and Ms. Carrington earned recognition as the league's Top
- 3 Sixth Player and Newcomer of the Year; Baylor also received
- 4 essential contributions throughout the year from the other members
- 5 of the roster: DiDi Richards, Trinity Oliver, Jaden Owens, Jordyn
- 6 Oliver, Hannah Gusters, Kamaria McDaniel, Sarah Andrews, Queen
- 7 Egbo, Chrislyn Carr, and Caitlin Bickle; Baylor excels under the
- 8 leadership of head coach Kim Mulkey, who has won three national
- 9 championships at the university and will be inducted into the
- 10 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 2021; additional
- 11 guidance was provided by associate head coach Bill Brock, assistant
- 12 coaches Sytia Messer and Kaylin Rice, and the other members of the
- 13 staff; and
- 14 WHEREAS, With its impressive record of sustained success, the
- 15 Baylor women's basketball team remains one of the top programs in
- 16 the country, and the Lady Bears are a source of great pride to their
- 17 many fans across the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby congratulate the Baylor University women's
- 20 basketball team on its successful 2020-2021 season and extend to
- 21 all those associated with the team sincere best wishes for the
- 22 future; and, be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for the Lady Bears as an expression of high regard by the
- 25 Texas House of Representatives.

Anderson

	_	3.7	~ 10
Н		NΩ	643

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 643 was adopted by the House on April 16, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House