H.R. No. 695

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A milestone in the history of Baylor University 2 athletics was realized on April 5, 2021, when the men's basketball 3 team earned its first NCAA Division I national championship; and

WHEREAS, The title game victory closed out an unforgettable year that began with a 17-game winning streak; the Bears went on to secure their inaugural Big 12 Conference regular-season crown after posting a 13-1 league record, and the team realized another first when it entered the NCAA tournament as a No. 1 seed; and

9 WHEREAS, Playing in the tournament's South Region, Baylor 10 notched commanding March Madness victories over Hartford, 11 Wisconsin, and Villanova before besting Arkansas to punch its 12 ticket to the Final Four for the first time since 1950; matching up 13 against the University of Houston in the semifinals, the Bears 14 showcased their precision shooting and stifling defense to prevail 15 78-59 and secure a berth in the championship contest; and

16 WHEREAS, Taking the floor at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis for the marquee title game, Baylor faced the 17 undefeated and top-ranked squad from Gonzaga University; the Bears 18 were undaunted and took charge from the opening tip-off; jumping 19 20 out to a 9-0 lead and a 47-37 halftime advantage, they continued to 21 dominate down the stretch, never allowing Gonzaga to come closer than nine points; emerging victorious by the final score of 86-70, 22 23 the Bears hoisted the championship trophy and closed out a storybook year with an overall record of 28 wins and only two 24

1

H.R. No. 695

1 losses; and

WHEREAS, Baylor was led by Jared Butler, the Final Four Most 2 3 Outstanding Player, who scored 22 points in the finale; notable honors were also claimed by Davion Mitchell, who was named both the 4 5 Naismith and National Association of Basketball Coaches Defensive Player of the Year; the Bears also received valuable contributions 6 throughout the season from the other members of the roster: Flo 7 8 Thamba, L. J. Cryer, Jordan Turner, Adam Flagler, Mark Vital, Jackson Moffatt, Jonathan Tchamwa Tchatchoua, Matthew Mayer, MaCio 9 Teague, Zach Loveday, Mark Paterson, and Dain Dainja; these 10 determined athletes were ably guided by head coach Scott Drew, who 11 won the Associated Press and Big 12 Coach of the Year awards and is 12 the youngest active coach in college basketball to win a national 13 14 championship; vital support was also provided by associate head 15 coach Jerome Tang, assistant coaches Alvin Brooks III and John Jakus, and the other members of the Baylor staff; and 16

WHEREAS, Playing with exemplary skill, determination, and teamwork, the Baylor Bears realized their season-long goal of becoming national champions, and their achievement will forever be a proud memory for the university's loyal fans throughout Texas and beyond; now, therefore, be it

22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas 23 Legislature hereby congratulate the Baylor University men's 24 basketball team on winning the 2021 NCAA Division I national 25 championship and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff 26 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further 27 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

2

H.R. No. 6951 prepared for the Bears as an expression of high regard by the Texas2 House of Representatives.

Leach

H.R. No. 695

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 695 was adopted by the House on April 23, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House