## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Our communities draw immeasurable strength from

1

2 individuals such as Martina Silva, whose tireless work in behalf of area citizens has contributed significantly to the quality of life 3 in El Paso; and 4 5 WHEREAS, A resident of the Montana Vista neighborhood since 1982, Tina Silva worked for 18 years to bring a centralized 6 7 wastewater supply system to that part of far east El Paso; she recognized the public health hazards created by reliance on septic 8 systems, and she led a petition drive and advocated tirelessly for 9 infrastructure to remedy the situation; in 2019, the Texas Water 10 11 Development Board provided an \$11.4 million grant for construction 12 of the Montana Vista Wastewater Project; El Paso County Precinct 3 recognized Ms. Silva's efforts with its Mission for the People 13 14 Award; and WHEREAS, Ms. Silva has supported the electoral process as a 15 16 precinct chair for four decades, and she has collaborated extensively with elected officials for the betterment of her 17 community; in addition, she has led charitable donation drives, and 18 she has given generously of her time and talents to numerous 19 organizations and worthy causes, among them Centro de Comunidad, 20 21 the tire recycling program, and an initiative to ban fireworks; and 22 WHEREAS, Tina Silva has made a lasting, positive difference 23 through her long record of civic engagement, and her endeavors have 24 earned her the respect and deep appreciation of her fellow

H.R. No. 728

- 1 residents; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby honor Martina Silva for her contributions to her
- 4 community and extend to her sincere best wishes for the future; and,
- 5 be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Ms. Silva as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

González of El Paso

IJ	D	Nο	728

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 728 was adopted by the House on April 30, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House