H.R. No. 741

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, For the second time, the Rockport Police Department
has been named a Recognized Law Enforcement Agency by the Texas
Police Chiefs Association; and

WHEREAS, Since 2006, the TPCA's Law Enforcement Recognition Program has evaluated Texas police departments by using a metric of more than 165 best practices that take into account all aspects of law enforcement, including use of force, protection of citizen rights, vehicle pursuit, property and evidence management, and patrol and investigative operations; and

WHEREAS, The Rockport Police Department was originally 10 11 credentialed as a Recognized Law Enforcement Agency in December 2016; to maintain its standing with the TPCA, the department was 12 required to conduct a critical self-review of its policies, 13 procedures, facilities, and operations and to submit to an on-site 14 inspection overseen by police chiefs from other agencies; after the 15 16 results were analyzed by the TPCA's Recognition Committee, the department was again awarded Recognized status on December 23, 17 2020; and 18

WHEREAS, Under the leadership of Chief Gregory Stevens, the Rockport police force has demonstrated exceptional diligence, professionalism, and dedication in meeting the best practices outlined by the Texas Police Chiefs Association, and they can indeed take great pride in earning this well-deserved honor; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 741

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate the Rockport Police Department on 3 its recognition by the Texas Police Chiefs Association and extend 4 to all those associated with the department sincere best wishes for 5 continued success in their important work; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the Rockport Police Department as an expression of 8 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Morrison

H.R. No. 741

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 741 was adopted by the House on April 30, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House